Simply Viewing Nature Curbs Cravings

New research shows that looking out your window helps reduce unhealthy cravings

Abbey
3 min readMar 26, 2020
Photo by Rob Wingate on Unsplash

There are days when I’m extremely proud of myself for eating three healthy meals and even making it to the gym!

Of course, around 9 p.m., none of this matters — I’ve remembered that a pint of Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked ice cream is in the freezer.

I reassure myself that I’ll only eat half.

Of course, I know this is a lie. I eat the whole pint… I always do.

My complete lack of self-control when it comes to sweet treats might explain why this new research, which explored how the amount of nature in daily life affects unhealthy cravings, ended up catching my eye.

So, what did the study do?

For the first time, researchers from the University of Plymouth in the U.K. investigated how passive viewing of green spaces may impact our harmful cravings. The scientists hypothesized that greenspace is deeply connected to a person’s wellbeing.

Building off of prior research that suggested exercising in nature diminishes cravings, scientists speculated that the positive association between nature and cravings might be present even without the physical activity.

--

--

Abbey

I’m a food scientist by PhD, a science writer, and a YouTuber. I’m fascinated by food science and enjoy writing and sharing what I’ve learn.